

## **Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes**

## Wednesday, April 19, 2023

Submitted for approval on June 21, 2023

Trustees and alternates present: Quinton Babcock, Dan Creps, Dana Dunbar, Jon Eckel, Ed Ewers, Chase Fletcher, Allen Gallant, Mike Hampton, Mark Hansen, Sarah Helbig, Doris Herringshaw, Dave Hower, Cheryl Johnson, Laura Koprowski, Tom Kovacik, Tom Mackin, Michael McCormick, Tim Pedro, Nancy Perry, Mike Pniewski, Angie Ruiz, Don Sahloff, Ed Schimmel, Joel Schlageter, Lisa Sobecki, Wade Smith, Hannah Stanbery Marozzi, Dave Thompson, Tom Uhler, Martha Woelke; Guests: Lorie Brodie, Office of Auditor of State Keith Faber; Theresa Morris, City of Toledo; Tiffany Gunner, SMART; Joe Shaw, City of Sylvania; TMACOG staff present: Jennifer Allen, Alex Aspacher, Bill Best, Tim Brown, Lance Dasher, Dave Gedeon, Kari Gerwin, Nate Reiter, Mike Tippett, Marc VonDeylen

**Call to Order/Welcome/Pledge of Allegiance** – A regular meeting of the TMACOG Board of Trustees was held on Wednesday, April 19, 2023, at 10 a.m. in the Grand Lobby of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza in Toledo. TMACOG Vice Chair Tom Mackin called the meeting to order after noting a quorum had been reached.

**Approval of Minutes** – A *motion* was made by Dana Dunbar and *seconded* by Angie Ruiz to approve minutes from the December 14, 2022, meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

**Chair's Remarks** – Chair Mike Aspacher was unable to attend the meeting and sent his regrets. Vice Chair Tom Mackin chaired the meeting.

**Vice Chair's Report** – Vice Chair Tom Mackin announced the audit of TMACOG's FY 2022 financial statement has been completed. Lori Brodie from the Office of Ohio State Auditor Keith Faber presented TMACOG with a clean audit award. Bill Best, TMACOG's vice president of finance and administration, was recognized for his commitment to accounting excellence. TMACOG has received the clean audit award for 13 consecutive years. Mr. Best, who will be retiring in the coming months, acknowledged Nate Reiter, TMACOG's deputy finance director, for his work on the audit of TMACOG's FY 2022 financial statements.

Perrysburg Township was recognized for celebrating its 200<sup>th</sup> anniversary. Vice Chair Mackin presented a proclamation to the township for their membership and participation in TMACOG over the years. Jon Eckel, the Township's administrator, accepted the proclamation. The Township will hold a celebration from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Saturday, May 13 at the Spafford House Museum.

Vice Chair Mackin announced that at a special meeting that was held this morning, the TMACOG Executive Committee accepted a recommendation from the Leadership Development Committee to appoint Sandy Spang to the president position and to authorize the TMACOG Chair, TMACOG Vice Chair, or person otherwise designated by the TMACOG Leadership Development Committee to negotiate a contract and ensure a smooth transition into the president position. Mrs. Spang is currently the deputy director of economic development for the City of Toledo.

Board members were invited to attend a retirement reception for President Brown on Tuesday, May 16 from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. at Hamburger Mary's. The deadline to RSVP is May 10. Other upcoming TMACOG events were listed on the last page of the meeting agenda.

**President's Report** – President Tim Brown announced that TMACOG's 2023 Directory of Local and Public Officials is now available. Board members were asked to pick up their organization's allotment of directories following the meeting, if they haven't already received them.

The Leadership Development Committee and key TMACOG staff are currently exploring the EDD application process with Bowling Green State University Center for Regional Development and determining the impact an EDD may have on our region. The U.S. Economic Development Administration (USEDA) requires that an applicant's bylaws contain language that would permit them to serve as an EDD. Proposed amendments to the TMACOG bylaws, including programmatic changes, will be presented to the Board of Trustees for approval at a future meeting, with a recommendation that the amendment be approved by the General Assembly.

President Brown gave an update on Route 23. For board members new to this discussion, he explained that Northwest Ohio is the only major metropolitan area that does not have direct access to the state capital. Route 23 can no longer be considered a viable freight corridor with 38 traffic lights to get to the interior of the state. Our legislative delegates support our efforts. Governor DeWine submitted language in his proposed transportation budget identifying up to \$10 million to study a connection between northwest Ohio and Columbus. The Senate's amended version of the budget includes language that gives ODOT a firm deadline to complete the study. The Gordie Howe International Bridge is slated to open in 2025. Freight crossing the border will have easy access to all points, except for the interior of the state until Ohio addresses the US 23 corridor. ODOT Director Jack Marchbanks recently met with stakeholders in the region to iterate the importance of addressing this issue.

President Brown thanked everyone for their involvement in TMACOG and the opportunity for him to represent TMACOG.

**Transportation Council** – Council Chair Joseph Shaw and TMACOG V.P. of Transportation David Gedeon presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet.

TMACOG Transportation Planner Lance Dasher gave a PowerPoint presentation on the FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program. Following the presentation, a *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and *seconded* by Nancy Perry to adopt *Resolution No. 2023-08, Approving the FY 2024-2027 Transportation Improvement Program.* The motion passed unanimously.

A **motion** was made by Mike Pniewski and **seconded** by Lisa Sobecki to adopt Resolution No. 2023-09, Approving the Air Quality Conformity Determination of the 2024-2027 TIP and 2045 On the Move Transportation Plan. The motion passed unanimously.

**Water Quality Council** – Kari Gerwin, TMACOG's vice president of water quality planning, presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet. A *motion* was made by Dana Dunbar and *seconded* by Angie Ruiz to approve *Resolution No. 2023-11, Amending the Boundaries of the Clyde Facility Planning Area.* The motion passed unanimously.

**Membership Committee** – Chair Ed Schimmel presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet. A *motion* was made by Cher Johnson and *seconded* by Angie Ruiz to approve Toledo Bikes Inc.'s membership application. The motion passed unanimously.

**Accept All Council and Committee Reports** – A *motion* was made by Tom Kovacik and *seconded* by Lisa Sobecki to approve the council and committee reports. The motion passed unanimously.

**Public Comment Period** – There were no representatives from the public present for comments.

**Any and All Other Business** – No other business was discussed.

**Next Meeting/Adjournment** – The next regularly scheduled board meeting will take place on Wednesday, June 21, 2023, at 10 a.m. in the Grand Lobby of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza. A *motion* was made by Dana Dunbar and *seconded* by Doris Herringshaw to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Thomas G. Mackin, Vice Chair Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments (TMACOG)

Tim W. Brown, President Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments (TMACOG)