

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, December 14, 2022

Submitted for approval on April 19, 2023

Trustees and Alternates present: Meg Adams, Mike Aspacher, Quinton Babcock, Frank Butwin, Gary Byers, Joe Cappel, Walt Celley, Brian Dicken, Dana Dunbar, Ed Ewers, Allen Gallant, Kurt Harris, Sarah Helbig, Doris Herringshaw, Dave Hower, Cheryl Johnson, Laura Koprowski, Tom Mackin, Royce Maniko, John Musteric, Mike Pniewski, Todd Ritzler, Nick Rubando, Angie Ruiz, Joel Schlageter, Chris Smalley, Craig Stough, Roberta Streiffert, Keith Torbet, Tom Uhler, Martha Woelke; **TMACOG Staff present**: Jennifer Allen, Alex Aspacher, Bill Best, Tim Brown, Lance Dasher, Dave Gedeon, Kari Gerwin, Nate Reiter, Mike Tippett, Marc VonDeylen

Call to Order/Welcome/Pledge of Allegiance – A regular meeting of the TMACOG Board of Trustees was held on Wednesday, December 14, 2022, at 10 a.m. in the Grand Lobby of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza in Toledo. TMACOG Chair Mike Aspacher called the meeting to order after noting a quorum had been reached.

Approval of Minutes – A *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and *seconded* by Nick Rubando to approve minutes from the June 15, 2022, meeting. John Musteric abstained as he was not present at the June 15, 022 meeting. The motion carried.

Chair's Remarks – Chair Mike Aspacher thanked everyone for attending the last meeting. Chair Aspacher recognized Walt Celley who plans to step down from his position next month as the administrator for Perrysburg Township Administrator. Mr. Celley was thanked for his years of service to TMACOG and the region.

Chair Aspacher announced that nominations are now being accepted for next year's board. Anyone interested in serving on the board in 2023 was encouraged to complete and submit the form that was included in the meeting agenda packet.

Chair Aspacher referenced the upcoming events section on the meeting agenda. Board members were encouraged to register for the General Assembly, which is scheduled to take place on January 20 from 7:45 a.m. to 1:15 p.m. at the Hilton Garden Inn in Perrysburg. The registration form can be accessed www.TMACOG.ORG. The annual meeting will include a breakfast reception, caucus breakout sessions, the annual business meeting, a networking luncheon, and a keynote presentation on the impact of electric vehicles on transportation logistics. The keynote speakers are Preeti Choudhary, executive director, Ohio Department of Transportation's DriveOhio program, and Jacob Schwemlein, director of Clean Fuels Ohio's Drive Electric program. Organizations interested in sponsorship opportunities or exhibitor space were asked to contact Rosanna Hoelzle, TMACOG's membership and outreach coordinator.

Vice Chair's Report – Vice Chair Tom Mackin gave an update on a recent joint meeting of TMACOG and the Southeastern Michigan Council of Governments (SEMCOG) leadership on October 13 in Detroit. He also announced that the City of Perrysburg had passed a resolution supporting an improved highway connection between Northwest Ohio and Columbus.

President's Report – President Tim Brown introduced Rosanna Hoelzle, TMACOG's new membership and outreach coordinator. President Brown invited board members to submit any news they would like to share to Alex Aspacher, TMACOG's public information specialist. He also gave a brief update on U.S. 23 Corridor discussion. Board members were encouraged to submit resolutions and/or letters of support to Governor DeWine and ODOT. A webpage dedicated to this topic can be found on TMACOG's website including a resolution template.

President Brown gave an update on pending bills in the Ohio legislature including HB 531, County Legal Counsel for COGs and HB 43, Remote Meetings. Lastly, he announced that 2023 membership renewal invoices had been emailed to members recently. Members were asked to contact Rosanna Hoelzle if they did not receive an invoice, have questions regarding the invoice, or to schedule a member visit. Board members were thanked for their participation and involvement throughout the year.

Transportation Council – Council Chair Joseph Shaw and TMACOG V.P. of Transportation David Gedeon presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet.

A *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and *seconded* by Joe Cappel to adopt *Resolution No. 2022-24, Approving the FY 2023 Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) Program Scoring and Ranking.* The motion passed unanimously.

David Gedeon gave an overview of the changes that were incorporated in the updated Toledo Area Transportation Legislative Agenda. A *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and *seconded* by Gary Byers to adopt *Resolution No. 2022-25, Endorsing the 2023-2024 Toledo Region Transportation Legislative Agenda.* The motion passed unanimously.

Water Quality Council – Council Chair Jon Eckel and TMACOG Water Quality Planner Matt Kennedy presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet.

A **motion** was made by Mike Pniewski and **seconded** by Dana Dunbar to adopt *Resolution No. 2022-20, Amending the Water Quality Council Operating Procedures.* The motion passed unanimously.

A **motion** was made by Mr. Pniewski and **seconded** by Nick Rubando to adopt *Resolution* No. 2022-26, Updating and Adopting the Areawide Water Quality Management Plan (AWQMP) Also Known as "The 208 Plan. The motion passed unanimously.

A *motion* was made by Mr. Pniewski and *seconded* by Nick Rubando to adopt *Resolution No. 2022-27, Approving the 2023-2024 Agenda for Lake Erie.* The motion passed unanimously.

Finance, Audit, and Administration Committee – Nate Reiter, TMACOG's deputy finance director, presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet. A *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and *seconded* by Angie Ruiz to approve *Resolution No. 2022-21*, *Amending the FY 2023 Annual Work Program and Adopting the TMACOG FY 2023 Budget and Membership Fee Schedule*. The motion carried unanimously.

Leadership Development Committee – Chair Aspacher presented the report, which was included in the agenda packet. A *motion* was made by Craig Stough and *seconded* by Mike Pniewski to accept Mike Aspacher and Tom Mackin as the 2023 nominees for TMACOG Chair and Vice Chair respectively, with a recommendation that they be elected by the General Assembly. Aspacher and Mackin abstained. The motion carried.

A **motion** was made by Craig Stough and **seconded** by Mike Pniewski to approve Resolution No. 2022-18, Urging Ohio Governor Mike DeWine and the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) to Reconsider the Decision to End the Route 23 Connect Study and Support an Improved Highway Connection Between Northwest Ohio and Columbus. The motion passed unanimously.

Accept All Council and Committee Reports – A *motion* was made by Mike Pniewski and **seconded** by Nick Rubando to approve the council and committee reports. The motion passed unanimously.

Public Comment Period – There were no representatives from the public present for comments.

Any and All Other Business – Ottawa Hills Council Member Dana Dunbar reported on pedestrian and safety measures being undertaken in the village.

Next Meeting/Adjournment – The next regularly scheduled board meeting will take place on Wednesday, April 19, 2023, at 10 a.m. in the Grand Lobby of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Plaza. A *motion* was made by Angie Ruiz and *seconded* by Cher Johnson to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Mike A. Aspacher, Chair
Toledo Metropolitan Area
Council of Governments (TMACOG)

Tim W. Brown, President Toledo Metropolitan Area Council of Governments (TMACOG)